University of cologne - Business School

Curriculum of the Executive MBA Programme

 

Our part-time programme is designed for participants from various backgrounds. It conforms to your lifestyle with a full-time job by minimising work-related impairments. You will be taught in a conversant atmosphere. On alternating weekends lessons take place from Friday evening to Saturday. In the course of the EMBA, four block seminars will take place, each lasting one week. Two of these block seminars include international study trips. This format is not only favourable to your full-time employment, but also provides a thorough, hands-on management education. After only 24 months, it results in a highly regarded double degree that will allow you to scale a new level on the career ladder.

 

1. Year – Focus on Management

Term 1

Fundamentals of Management

The first term of the programme is designed to focus on analytical skills and critical thinking, while mastering the fundamentals of business management. In doing so, we will also work on you Personal Leadership Deveopment from the very beginning.

 

Term 2

Advanced Management

 

In the course of the second semester, you will be able to expand these fundamentals and methods of business management up to advanced and specialised areas of management. Furthermore, you are going on a study week in Rotterdam.

2. Year – Focus on Personal Leadership Development

Term 3

Foundations and Practice of Leadership

For the third term you will have the opportunity to select three electives from a range of 30 subjects. Electives are for example Digital Transformation, Data Science, Brand Management and Financial Engineering. Additionally, you are going on an international study trip, where you given the opportunity to choose one destination from nine destinations in total.

 

Term 4

Personal Leadership Development

The fouth term covers leadership development and the practice of leadership while fostering communication skills in lectures such as Business Sustainability und Leading Strategic Business Change. In this course you will also participate in a Leadership Retreat, which will give you the oppurtunity to prove your Personal Leadership skills.

 

In-company Thesis

You will finalise your Executive MBA programme with an in-company thesis. Here you  have the opportunity to combine the knowledge you have gained through your studies with your current working situation. Since the preparation of the thesis will be time-consuming and it sometimes might even push you to your limits, it is important for the project to have real purpose for you outside of the academic world. Furthermore, your company will profit from your findings, as you will illuminate its processes from a theoretical perspective.

During the making of the thesis you will be guided by your academic supervisor. She or he will be able to effectively guide you in further developing the scope of the project, articulating the School’s requirements and providing advice in the research process.

Download the EMBA brochure now

download

Your contact persons

Sabine Kuschel

Marketing and Admissions Manager

+49 (0) 221 470 7943

sabine.kuschel@uni-koeln.de

Contact us

Juliana Milla

Marketing and Admissions Manager

+49 (0) 221 470 76337

juliana.milla@uni-koeln.de

Contact us

We are using Cookies to make our offer more user-friendly, effective and secure. Find further information on this in our privacy policy.

University of cologne - Business School

Curriculum des Executive MBA Programms

 

Unser Teilzeit-Programm ist für Teilnehmer*innen diverser Hintergründe ausgerichtet. Es richtet sich nach Ihrem Lebensstil mit einer Vollzeitstelle, um arbeitsbedingte Beeinträchtigungen zu minimieren. Sie werden in einer vertraulichen Atmosphäre unterrichtet. An wechselnden Wochenenden findet der Unterricht von Freitagabend und Samstag statt. Im Laufe des EMBA werden vier Blockseminare stattfinden, welche jeweils eine Woche andauern. Zwei dieser Blockseminare beinhalten internationale Studienreisen. Dieses arbeitstechnisch günstige Format liefert eine gründliche, praxisorientierte Management-Ausbildung, dessen Ergebnis nach nur 24 Monaten ein hochangesehener Doppelabschluss ist, mit dem Sie eine neue Stufe auf der Karriereleiter erklimmen können.

 

1. Studienjahr – Management

1. Semester

Grundlagen und Methoden der Unternehmensführung

Im ersten Semester werden Ihnen die Grundlagen und Methoden der Unternehmensführung in einem analytisch, kritisch-denkenden Lehransatz vermittelt. Wobei bereits zu Beginn an ihrem Personal Leadership Development gearbeitet wird.

2. Semester

Fortgeschrittene Unternehmensführung

Das zweite Semester ist der Erweiterung der Grundlagen und Methoden der Unternehmensführung gewidmet – bis hin zu fortgeschrittenen und spezifizierten Managementbereichen. Ebenso erwartet Sie eine Seminarwoche in Rotterdam.

 

2. Studienjahr – Fokus auf Personal Leadership Development

3. Semester

Grundlagen und Methoden der Mitarbeiterführung

Im dritten Term haben Sie die Möglichkeit drei individuelle Spezialisierungen aus einem Angebot von über 30 Kursen auszuwählen. Hier bieten wir z.B. Digital Transformation, Brand Management, Data Science oder Financial Engineering an. Zudem nehmen Sie an einer internationalen Studienreise teil, bei der Sie einen von neun Zielorten wählen können.

4. Semester

Personal Leadership Development

Im vierten Semester stehen die Entwicklung Ihrer Führungskompetenzen sowie Ihre Kommunikationsfähigkeiten im Fokus mit Kursen wie Business Sustainability und Leading Strategic Business Change. In diesem Zuge nehmen Sie außerdem an einem 'Leadership Retreat' teil, wo Sie die Gelegenheit haben Ihre Führungskompetenzen unter Beweis zu stellen.

In-company Thesis

Sie stellen Ihr Executive MBA Programm mit einer In-company Thesis fertig. Hier haben Sie die Möglichkeit, die Inhalte, die Sie durch Ihr Studium erlernt haben, auf Ihr aktuelles Berufsleben zu beziehen. Da die Erstellung der Thesis sehr zeitintensiv werden wird und Sie möglicherweise an Ihre persönlichen Grenzen kommen werden, ist es essenziell, dass das Projekt einen Praxisbezug außerhalb des akademischen Daseins herstellt. Des Weiteren wird Ihr/e Arbeitgeber*in von Ihren Ergebnissen profitieren können, da Sie die Prozesse innerhalb der Firma von einer theoriegeleiteten Perspektive aus beleuchten.

Während der Bearbeitung der Thesis werden Sie von Ihrer/Ihrem akademischen Betreuer*in begleitet. Sie*er wird in der Lage sein, Sie so effizient wie möglich darin zu unterstützen, einen geeigneten Umfang für Ihr Projekt zu entwickeln, die universitären Anforderungen zu treffen oder Sie hinsichtlich des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens zu beraten.

Laden Sie die EMBA Broschüre kostenlos herunter

download

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

Sabine Kuschel

Marketing and Admissions Manager

+49 (0) 221 470 7943

sabine.kuschel@uni-koeln.de

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Juliana Milla

Marketing and Admissions Manager

+49 (0) 221 470 76337

juliana.milla@uni-koeln.de

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Wir verwenden Cookies, um unser Angebot nutzerfreundlicher, effektiver und sicherer zu machen. Weitere Informationen hierzu finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.